Sunday, July 26, 2009


It really felt like a day off today. We went to our "vacation" house ( our old house we are trying to get ready to rent) and had more fun things to paint, clean and pound. Of course the work isn't going as fast as I want it to, so I grabbed the nearest saw ( some odd hacksaw thing) and started cutting the floor trim for the laundry room. Tomorrow I will nail it up.
The laundry room was my studio when we first moved to the mountain house, and I was grateful for it. I had my soldering table and my polishing machine on the back deck, since the room wasn't big enough for all the equipment. I had my torch mounted right in front of the window, so it was great to watch the weather and make beads.

My neighbors could see my torch flaming through the window from their front porch. They moved "up country" when they were my age, and that was over 30 years ago. I would drop in for cocktail hour with them once in a while....4:30 if you didn't know....and their signature drink became my favorite drink, brandy and soda with a squeeze of lime. They were very private people, and I was fortunate to get a little foot in the door once in a while. They were so capable, even in their mid 80's. One time I had bottled propane they needed during a bad snow storm, and I was so happy to have something THEY needed! They were very independent.

Helen just passed, and I miss her a lot, even though we havn't been neighbors for a while. Bob isn't looking too good. He hasn't had a brandy in a while, so I know he's not feeling great. Funny timing. It's been just over a year since I had my last brandy and soda. Things change.

1 comment:

  1. Hi, Gayle! So glad I found your booth at the Truckee show. You need to put up a photo of your not-a-fish silver necklace (which I bought, among other things)!


About Me

My photo
Calaveras County, California, United States
I love the stones and pearls, and the magic that happens when I combine them, and then again combined with the glass I make. You can find me at an Art show somewhere in Northern California most weekends during the spring and summer. Email me at if you like.